Little Boxes

So, in the search for something fun to while away the evenings while we wait for the new season of Dexter to start (yes, whatever, we have two children under the age of 3, life doesn’t get much more exciting than this for a while…), I have developed quite a fondness for the TV show, Weeds.

If you haven’t seen it, and those nights are starting to draw in, it’s definitely worth a look.   But there really needs to be a health warning in the TV guide, because that theme tune gets  IN.  YOUR.  HEAD.  I have not stopped humming, whistling, singing it for weeks now, and it’s driving me insane.   Poor Henry doesn’t get “Rock-a-bye Baby” as his bedtime lullaby, but instead something more along the lines of “Little boxes, on the hillside, little boxes made of ticky tacky…”.   And so, dear friends, as I’m in a generous mood, I’ve decided to share the madness.  Mainly because I actually think it’s pretty cool – I believe about 30 different artists have covered the song just for “Weeds”, including Ben Folds, Regina Spektor (yes, I’m a broken record, I know), Death Cab for Cutie and, oddly, Steve Martin.

In my, admittedly pointless,  search for the perfect “Little Boxes”, and with a little guidance from my father-in-law, I came across this version:

Which, of course, then led me on another fun wander round the web to discover that I am, apparently, the last person in the world to have heard of Walk Off the Earth.  They’ve been on Ellen and everything!

Before I hit the hay, then, to enjoy 2 hours of shut-eye before my dear Henry starts shouting for attention yet again, I thought it only fair to share the cool.  Oh, and I know, I’m a real sucker for great music videos – You Tube saved me on many a lonesome night in a sweaty Singapore apartment.  But that’s a tale for another day…

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

