Desperate Measures

Oh yes, I’m going there again.   Sleep.  Or lack of it.

It’s pretty much all I can think about, these days.  You should just be grateful I don’t write about it more often.  My dear, dear Henry, light of my life, thief of my heart – such an angel by day, but an absolute demon at night.

I took your advice, by the way.   I instigated a good routine.  He is up at 6.45 am, he takes his first nap just over 2 hours later, at 9 am.   He naps for around an hour and a half, then he is fed, changed and we play or run errands.  2 hours later, he gets another nap.  And so on…

We have also introduced solids.  And you were right – he is a hungry little man.  Weaning is going ridiculously well – he’ll pretty much eat anything you offer him!  And, as a result, Henry is now eating 3 solid meals a day, and enjoying 3 or 4 boobalicious feeds on top of that.

Ooooh, I do love my grub!

And yet…oh yes, you knew there was a “but” coming, didn’t you?

In the last couple of weeks, I don’t think I have had more than 3 hours sleep each night.  If anything, he is waking even more than before!  He goes down very easily, after our usual bath and bedtime routine.  And he sleeps extremely well (most of the time) until around midnight.  And that is where it all goes horribly wrong.  From then on, it’s anyone’s guess.  But for the last few nights, he’s been up at 3.15, and then refusing to sleep again until after 5 am.  And then he’ll wake every 20 minutes until 6.45, when we’re up for the day.

It.  Is.  Exhausting.   I love my son so very dearly, but by 4 am, I’m only a little ashamed to admit that I can often be found shouting “WHY, Henry, WHY WON’T YOU JUST GO TO SLEEP?!”.

He will be 6 months old a week today.   Enough is enough.

It’s time.

I’m beaten. It’s time.

I hate that is has had to come to this, but tonight I started Controlled Crying.  Which means, of course, I have to stick with this for the next two weeks, so please excuse the eye bags, grey hairs, and the general air of haggardness around me.   As I sit here this evening, listening to my sweet Henry screaming in indignation, I look at this photo and remind myself….this is for the best.  This is for the best.   This is for the best, for all of us.

Happy (ahem….well rested) mummy = happy Pepperlings!

I will keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Desperate Measures

  1. Aimee says:

    😦 good luck. We used the pat and ssssh method quite early on (if we knew she wasn’t hungry) – feel bad now as may have been too early perhaps. Sounds like you will have to go for the the more heavy duty one though. Hope he responds quickly xxxxxxxx

    Like

  2. Niki says:

    Good luck hunnie. I know many people disagree with it and so did I until I felt forced to do it to my own child and it was honestly the best thing I ever did for us. 3 nights of tears from both of us was worth it for sleeping nights and happier brighter persons because of it 🙂 xx

    Like

  3. Catherine says:

    Good luck! I had been thinking about this for a week or so, but didn’t want to mention it incase you were anti-CIO. I did it with WB when he was 7.5 months and he was waking out of habit, rather than hunger, then when Olivia was 5-ish months when she was able to sleep longer but sometimes chose not to. I used slightly different methods for each child. But ultimately, it took 2 nights each.

    Like

  4. anita says:

    having just seen your post about him rolling recently, and looking like he’s about to crawl, I guess this may be why he’s not sleeping. They say their sleep gets interrupted when they learn new skills or reach new milestones, so maybe his little mind is just going crazy with excitement at all the new things he’s learning recently? Perhaps he’ll slip back into a more normal sleep pattern when he gets used to his new-found mobility. Problem is, there’ll be a lot more new discoveries/skills coming up, so I still think he needs to know you wont come running every time he wakes, so good luck missy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

