Sigh… Controlled Crying: Day 6

– You didn’t think it was gonna be that easy, did you?
– You know, for a second there, yeah, I kinda did.
– Silly rabbit

Who’s the silly rabbit now then, huh?

Boing. Boing. Boing.

Sorry, I’m a Tarantino geek.   For the motorbikes, insert the sound of a baby screaming – and there, you have my day.

Now, where was I?

So obviously it was never going to be that easy.  I’m a scientist – I know full well that it takes time, fine tuning, and a lot of repetition before you start to see any kind of consistency in your results.   Why should this be any different?

When I left you, I had just put Henry to bed.  He went down so easily – too easily, in fact.

At midnight, he woke up crying.  And you know, it’s the strangest thing.  After 6 months of not sleeping, of getting used to waking up every two hours, once you finally get a decent (ish) night’s rest, you’d think it would be amazing, right?  You’d think that you would wake up the next day feeling like a whole new woman.  Refreshed.  Reborn.

But, actually… it leaves you completely floored.  I suppose that a sudden reset of your circadian rhythm leaves you in a miserable state of, well, jet lag.    And in my exhausted, jet-lagged state, I completely forgot all the rules.  So my first instinct was to pick the baby up, give him a cuddle, and then nurse him.

Silly rabbit.

That is what is called “setting a precedent”.  I completely undid all the work of the last 5 days – I’m such an idiot!  I re-taught my little lamb chop that if he cries, Mummy will come running, and she’ll bring food!  Argh!

Needless to say, it was not a restful night.  We were right back to waking every two hours…and at 5.45 am (hanging head in shame), I just gave up, and brought him into my bed for cosy cuddles.  Well, that was the idea.  In actual fact, I brought him into my bed so that I could listen to him whinging and crying in person, rather than over the baby monitor.  Brilliant.  What a marvelously magical way to start the week!

Ugh!

They say that sleep begets sleep, which might explain why Henry has only napped for a total of 45 minutes today.  In which case, we’re about to start a very vicious cycle!

Tonight, I’m going to be strong.  I promise.  I’m as bored of this as you are.   I will be strong.

She’s a mom of *three*, right? Well then, bring it!

Wish us luck – if only so that you never have to listen to me whinging on about sleep (or lack of) ever again!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sigh… Controlled Crying: Day 6

  1. Aimee says:

    Oh gawd love that is tough. I hope he starts to get better soon. We have half hour at least of full on sobbing and screaming each night before H goes to sleep so admittedly I don’t have the issues you have but I know just how fraught it gets then so I can only imagine how you’re feeling night after night. H doesn’t nap during day either – well not without a huge fight so I don’t have any answers 😦 xxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

