Celebrate good times, tonight!

It’s a celebration!

Says it all, really.

I know I’m not even a US Resident yet, let alone a voting Citizen. I know that I really haven’t had a chance to read up on American politics, history or every single policy that each delegate stands for.   Ultimately, I know that my opinion really counts for nothing at all.

But…my goodness, this is a huge relief!

Firstly, and simply enough, I just like the Obamas.  They strike me as a really intelligent, sincere and dedicated family.

“Four more years”

And isn’t it important, when someone is traveling the world, representing the country you love (which just happens to be the most powerful nation on Earth), that it should be someone you are proud of?  Or at least, not embarrassed by?

“They misunderestimated me!”

On the other hand, Mitt Romney (nope, Mitt is not short for anything.  Not even Mittens) is just pure slippery politician.  You see him smugly smirking at the cameras, full of derision for Obama and his healthcare policies, and wildly backtracking on his own “comedy” gaffs, and think “Is it just me, or is that man a total slimeball?“.   Or words to that effect.

“They brought us whole binders full of women!”

Romney’s politics are old fashioned and increasingly irrelevant. He is a pro-life Mormon, with strong views against same sex marriage and reproductive rights for women.   This year, he told students at Ohio University to borrow money from their parents if they need to get themselves started up, and let’s not forget the infamous 47%…. “There are 47% of the people who will vote for the president no matter what. All right, there are 47% who are with him, who are dependent upon government, who believe that they are victims, who believe the government has a responsibility to take care of them, who believe that they are entitled to healthcare, to food, to housing, to you name it.”.

This, in my opinion, is not a man who has compassion and respect for his countrymen.  Fellow Americans who, incidentally, he believes earn an average of $200-250,000 each year.   As opposed to the actual median household income of just over $50,000.   Well done, Mick.  Sorry, Mitt.  My bad.

“I’m not familiar precisely with exactly what I said, but I stand by what I said. Whatever it was.”

Of course, I’m aware that not everybody has been particularly impressed by Barack Obama’s first term in office.  There is a lot of controversy around Obamacare, plenty of criticism over the state of the US economy, and much discussion over his foreign policies.

But hey, this is politics – we’re supposed to disagree.   And I stand by what I said.  I like Barack Obama.  And that’s reason enough for me to be tearfully happy tonight!!

“Good job”, America!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

