New year, new KP

Yes, I know that everybody makes this resolution – it’s no coincidence that every second advert on the TV is for miracle weight loss remedies, gym memberships and fitness DVDs at this time of year.   Nearly two thirds of adults set fitness goals as part of their New Year’s resolutions – yet, according to a survey published last month, 73 percent abandon those goals without success, often within six weeks or less.  Yup, ordinarily, I would be part of that statistic….except for me, it would be more like 6 days.   Well, you need Dominos to get you through those long, miserable January evenings, right?

Uh-huh!

Uh-huh!

But this year, I’m actually off to a good start, so the thought of keeping fit and slimming down is not quite as daunting as usual.  2013 will be the first year since 2008 that I’ve not been pregnant at any time throughout the year (sorry, Grandparents – not a chance!!!).    Henry is now 8 months old, and we have no big plans for the coming year, other than continuing to get to know the Pacific Northwest, this beautiful place we now call home.  So….No.  More.  Excuses.

Strategically placed cardigan hides the effect of many mince pies.

Strategically placed cardigan hides the effect of many mince pies.


Time to bare all, so to speak.  If I make it public, it makes it real, right?  Without meaning to brag, I’m now 12 lb lighter than my pre-pregnancy weight (Henry, that is).   I’m 4 lb shy of the weight I was at my wedding, and my goal is to be 10 lb lighter than I am now – which had been my original wedding target, the one I never quite managed to hit.  Damnammit!

For once, I think it might actually be achievable.  The running club is wonderful – I’m so pleased I started it!  Even though we’re still only a small group of 10, just knowing that one person is depending on me showing up to each scheduled run  has already been the motivation I so badly needed to just get on with it, and get out the damn door!  I’ve met some lovely, like-minded and strong-willed women, and have been invited to participate in a 58-mile relay run at Mount Si.  It’s at the end of April, and I already cannot wait – it will be so different to anything I’ve done before, the scenery is supposed to be spectacular, and I imagine the camaraderie and competition at a relay run is like no other.   So exciting!

Beautiful Mount Si - I'm hoping for a little less ice, obviously.

Beautiful Mount Si – I’m hoping for a little less ice, obviously.

So, I’ve got the running, I’ve got the goal and now I just need a little help to ramp up the ole metabolism.

Enter…..Crossfit.  Or should that be, re-enter?! Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to justify the expense of signing up to the monthly membership of the Crossfit gym I’ve raved about before – $150 is really just too much for this single income family with two cars, two kids and a hefty mortgage.  BUT, as luck would have it, a fabulous GroupOn popped into my inbox just after Christmas – 20 CrossFit sessions for $49.   Hurrah!

I start next week….and you know I’m going to tell you all about it, right?   Yep, you are that lucky.

Right, so I’ve got the running club, the goals, the relay run, the CrossFit GroupOn….  and now I’m sitting here trying to decide if I’m absolutely crazy for contemplating signing up for the Seattle Marathon in November.   I’ve done it once before, I can do it again, right?  Erm….can I?  I do remember saying once (okay, more than once!) that running those 26.2 miles in London was worse than childbirth.  But I did that a second time too, and look how well that turned out!

Pretty nice "goodie bag" at that finish line, anyway!

Pretty nice “goodie bag” at that finish line, anyway!

Watch this space – I’m not promising anything, but I’ll admit to having a little bubble of excitement in my belly at the thought of crossing that emotionally-charged finish line again.

In the meantime, I’m sitting here watching the Biggest Loser, salivating over Bob Harper’s delicious biceps, and just feeling thankful that for once I don’t feel like I’m just a few pounds shy of being able to apply.

New year, new me?  Bring it on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New year, new KP

  1. Danielle says:

    You can do it! 😉

    Like

  2. Niki says:

    You go girl, you can do it! Love the pic of Henry btw 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

