How did I never know about this?

This is a shamelessly frivolous post, I know.  It’s been a looooong day with the Pepperlings (one endlessly climbing my legs, the other screaming at me from the back of the car – parked in the garage, incidentally, while I was in the family room – because she doesn’t like me, she doesn’t like our house, and she really doesn’t like Milo).

Needless to say, it’s been a chocolate or vodka kind of day.  At 2 in the afternoon, I worried that CPS might be called if I cracked open the Smirnoff Citron, so cake was clearly the order of the day.

Not only cake, but FIVE MINUTE mug cake.  That’s right, girls – a chocolate cake that takes 2 minutes to prepare, 180 seconds to cook and 35 milliseconds to inhale.  Boo-ya!  You’re welcome.

If you’ve never heard of this before, then the sisterhood is doing you a disservice.  And that’s where I step in….

Image

7 ingredients. Seemples. (Goldfish crackers optional…) 😉

I’m so nice.  I should be making like Coca Cola and keeping this magic to myself!   Can I have a Bloggie now, please?   Go on, you know I’m worth it!

Oh Christ, sorry, I suppose you’re eagerly awaiting your cocoa fix, and here I am, dithering away those precious 5 minutes.

So, here goes.  4 tablespoons (tbsp) all-purpose flour,  4 tbsp sugar, 2 tbsp cocoa, 1 egg, 3 tbsp oil  (I used vegetable, but I bet coconut oil would make this quite fabulous!), 3 tbsp milk,  3 tbsp chocolate chips (optional), a  dash of vanilla extract.   Mix it all together in a large coffee mug.

Image

I swear to God, that is not my vodka – despite the “I am such a lush!” expression on her face….

Bung it in the microwave (high) for 3 minutes

Image

So simple, a 3 year old can manage it!

And……hey presto, Bob’s your uncle, Fanny’s yer aunt, et voilà!

Image

The taste test.

Image

*Somebody* is clearly a fan!

And….here is the verdict!

Image

Uh-huh. I know, sweetpea!

Apparently, it’s quite good!

FYI:  This isn’t the kind of cake you take to playdates, or use to show your in-laws just what a wonderful domestic Goddess their son has married.  This is a “the kids are driving me mad. the house is a mess, the husband is AWOL, and GODAMMIT, I need cake!!!!” kind of recipe.   Gourmet, it is not – but it definitely hits the spot, particularly with a side of Ben & Jerry’s finest.

Bon appétit , fellow haggard mamas, bon appétit!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How did I never know about this?

  1. jayhox says:

    I’m reading this at 6:40am, is it okay if I have it for breakfast?😉

    Like

  2. You need a “Pin It” button on your blog…I did just pin this recipe to Pinterest just the same…YUM, will be trying this soon Kerstin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

