Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

I had great plans this evening to write about Evie and her ongoing speech therapy.   Unfortunately, the Pepperlings had other plans, and after listening to nearly 2 hours of screams, yells, crashes and wails of “Mommmeeeee, I don’t like sleeeepppping”, I’m pretty much incapable of anything other than sharing a couple of videos. 

Think of this as a bit of background to the post I should have written, and then you can wait with baited breath for the next installment.  Ahem.

This is Evie singing along with Elmo, 11 days after her 3rd birthday.  It’s the ABC Song, obviously – though, without Elmo’s assistance, that may be a little less patent.

I couldn’t convince her to go with the ABCs again this afternoon (“No Mommy, I’m not baby, I’m BIG GIRL. I’m Evie Pepper!”), so instead, we have a sterling rendition of Hey Diddle Diddle for your viewing pleasure. 

11 weeks, and 15 speech therapy sessions later.  

Hmmm.   There’s definitely an improvement, and of course I realise that you can’t rush these things: every child develops differently; Evie’s much more into running riot than reciting Shakespeare; blah blah blah.  But let’s just say, at $120 per 40 minute appointment, I’m very glad that our insurance is paying for this.  

Having “mastered” the letter P so far, I’m guessing Henry and I are going to be pretty familiar with every square inch of that waiting room before the year is out.  Evie has the vowels nailed, so that leaves us with…20 consonants to go.  Whoop whoop – with any luck, she’ll be singing Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious just in time for her 18th birthday!

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood

  1. Sheeny says:

    Omg I just want to keep her forever!!!! She’s so adorable! X

    Like

  2. Pingback: Oh, nuts!!! | The Peppers head Stateside!

Leave a Reply

