The Waiting Game

It’s been 2 years and 12 days since we landed in Seattle, and about 6 days more than that since my last day at work. 

Not that I’m counting, or anything.

We had our biometrics appointment at the Department of Homeland Security on 22nd August.  Friends who have recently been through the same process as us assured me that they received their EAD (Employment Authorization Document) within 1 – 2 weeks of having their fingerprints taken.   As we approach two months since my own vital statistics were handed over, I’ll admit, I’m starting to twitch a little.   AND THEN THE GOVERNMENT SHUT DOWN.

What the actual f*@#?

I found a pretty cool explanation of the government shutdown here, in case you’re interested.   It’s a “for dummies” missive, so don’t be put off by the political topic.  

The main point is….nobody gives two hoots about my Green Card right now!!

After obsessively diligently checking our mailbox every day for the last 2 months, practically skipping down the drive as I see the USPS van pull away each afternoon, the excitement I spoke about previously is dead and rotting starting to wear off. 

The more time that passes, the more I question my longing to return to my career.  So many things have gone wrong along the way, in my quest for the elusive Green Card.  And now the federal government of the United States of America is essentially holding their President to ransom?!?

Surely this must be a sign?  A huge, bright green neon flashing one? 

Image

Well, okay then, if you insist…

Or is it simply another little bump along the great highway of life?

Am I just destined to be a soccer mom, living in my little bubble of Stepford wife suburbia? Or do I need to listen to my dear daughter, whose latest favourite turn of phrase is “You’ve just got to be patient, Mommy.  Be patient and wait your turn.”.  

Out of the mouths of babes! My wise wittle Weevie…

Image

Just be patient…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

