Let’s talk about sex, baby!

Day 15.

And by “sex”, I mean gender, of course.   What?  My Dad reads this blog.  Please!

I’ve started going to a Fit4Mom exercise class twice a week, in a determined bid not to morph into a beached whale over the next 16 weeks (gasp – sixteen weeks?  Help!), and hopefully avoid yet another 47 hour labour.  Or, at the very least, help me to survive it if I do get to be 3rd time unlucky.  At the start of each class, the instructor has us answer a couple of questions each, as we warm up.  A quick “get to know you” introduction to the class.  This week, the question was “Is your bump pink or blue?  Or are you staying yellow?”.  As the discussion progressed, it became apparent that I was the only mom in the class that had chosen to remain in the dark on gender.  We had 3 boys and 2 girls, plus l’il ole Daisy.  Or Duke.  So then, of course, I was asked the inevitable question, “Well, do you have a preference?  You have one of each already, you already know.  So…what would you like it to be?”.

You know, it’s a funny old question, and one I’ve been asked many times in recent weeks.  One of the very reasons we opted not to find out baby’s gender this time was because I can honestly, hand on heart, say that I have absolutely zero inclination, one way or another.  I’m not going to come out with that old “as long as baby is healthy” cliche, because that all goes without saying.  It’s like people who complain about their babies keeping them up all night, but start with “I love her to death, but….”.   As if we might question your love for your child, if you dare to admit that it’s not all coming up roses every day!  It’s a given.  Move on!

But, when I already have a daughter who refuses to brush her unruly mane, has zero interest in the clothes she might wear each day, and who, when asked what theme she wanted for her birthday party, chose “Superheroes” without a second thought, alongside a son who likes to run around naked, paint his nails, and actually asks me to do this to his hair:

Image…..well, I think they both rock – whether there is a wiener or a burger bun on that scan photo, I’ll be delighted with whatever Peppery delight is on the menu!  And who doesn’t love surprises?  It’ll be like Christmas in July….I can’t wait!  #100HappyDays

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s talk about sex, baby!

  1. sarcasmica says:

    Well i wish you all the luck for one OR the other, not one AND the other!

    Like

Leave a Reply

